Blu del Cielo?

 

IMG_2495

On of the best things about living in Sorrento is the fact that you find yourself waking up to clear blue skies most days. However, today has been an exception. When I drew back the curtain, I was waiting to see the sun shinning and a glistening blue sky! To my surprise, the sky was grey, the wind was howling and the air pressure was so intense I could feel my head pounding.

Despite the fact grey skies might not have been what I was hoping for….it turned out to be an entertaining change! Sometimes change and variation can be good! I took the bus up to the local town of Piano di Sorrento, one of my favourite places in this area. As per usual, I went to my favourite café on the corner to watch the world go by and relax before starting my day. Just as I sat down with my coffee in my hand…the heavens opened, the lightening struck the cliff side and the thunder grumbled non-stop! I have never experienced a thunderstorm quite like it. Despite the fact I normally hate thunderstorms this one was quite entertaining!

The owner of the café obviously had a plan of action. As he put his wellington boots on and his huge jacket, the rain continued to create a mini river. I watched intensely as cars drove through Piano di Sorrento cautiously. The sheer excitement of it all got everyone in the café talking and it soon become a social hub! The café owner removed the drain covers to try and drain some of the wear before any serious damage could be done to his café! He attached plastic boards to his doorstep and stood outside intensely observing the prevailing situation. 

All of this happened with in the first three hours of my day and I have to say….It is an experience I will never forget! 

As soon as the thunderstorm ended, normality seemed to resume itself as if nothing had happened. I then decided to walk up to the bus stop to return home before the second thunderstorm was due to commence. Unfortunately, the Italian transportation system let me down! As I waited at the bus stop, I noticed there was no bus timetable. I asked a local man in the restaurant opposite the bus stop how often the buses usually run. His response was “they come when they come”. There was also an English couple at the bus stop waiting for the same bus. The couple explained to me that they had been waiting for an hour already and there had been no sign of a bus! Whilst I debated my options, the heavens opened once again and I found myself drenched from head to toe within ten minuets. Walking home was no longer going to be an option! As the cars drove by, the water sprayed up and covered me, plastering my hair to my face and my dress to my body!  I was sure that it would not be possible to get any wetter! …..Until a huge lorry went past…it was as if a tidal wave had just hit me!

Excepting the fact I was already soaking wet and cold, I decided just to wait for the bus and try my best to keep on smiling. My wait was made more entertaining by one of the locals opposite who kept making different hand signals to communicate with me. It is true…in Italy there is not just one main language and lots of different dialects, there is two languages and the language of the hand signals is evidently key for communication. Despite the fact I was not sure of what he was trying to tell me….the situation was very comical and soon put a smile on my face!

Once the bus finally decided to turn up after almost two hours, it was time to return to shelter! When I got off the bus in Piazza Tasso, the first thing I saw was a beautiful bride with the prettiest wedding dress! I could not help but feel sorry for her as she walked towards the wedding car. Despite the umbrella used to protect her hair, the hem of the dress was soaking wet and covered in dirt from the street! But as my Italian friend told me….“A wet bride is a lucky bride” and for the sake of that bride, I hope the saying is true!

Rispondi

